Author Topic: Fuel Strip  (Read 364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offlinematgriff

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 46
    • Model/year: 2005 RT1200
    Fuel Strip
    « on: 2021-06-14 18:28:21 »
    Hi all.  My 2005RT left me stranded yesterday on a ride out through Wales.... on the way home it died, I suspected a fuel problem straight away, and I was right it was dry... annoying thing was that the gauge still showed 1/4 of a tank and it read 110 miles to empty.  I'm guessing the fuel strip has failed in some way.


    It's a bit strange because the gauge seems to work OK in the top half, If I fill up it reads full with a range of >300 miles, it then seems to go down correctly, and I usually fill it back up when it gets down to about a 1/4 of a tank, but this time as we were only about 50 miles from home I didn't bother. I now know it doesn't read less than 1/4 full with a range of about 100 miles showing.


    Luckily we were quite near a petrol station, and after a bit of faffing around with a pop bottle and a pipe and my mates RT, I got it to the station. I added 12 litres (in case I had to drain the tank to fix it) and the reading went to around 180 miles to Empty, so it's working sort of, ie it added 80 miles.


    Do I need to just replace the fuel strip ? I have the Motoscan tool to calibrate it first.  From what I've read the fix seems to be a bit hit n mix, but as the bike is in great condition and I don't want to leave it broken, I'm tempted to just buy the new part.


    Thx

    OnlineDavid.

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Posts: 6,139
    • Country: gb
      • Model/year: R 1200 RT / 2012 (Camhead)
      Re: Fuel Strip
      « Reply #1 on: 2021-06-14 20:20:20 »
      Found a video by Superbike Surgery Ltd, "BMW Motorbike Faulty Fuel Strip Sensor Fix", shows all you'll need to know.

      (Sorry, can't post a link, my PC is being replaced overnight, a "Google Search" will find it).
      « Last Edit: 2021-06-14 20:23:26 by David. »

      OnlineDavid.

      • Hero Member
      • *****
      • Posts: 6,139
      • Country: gb
        • Model/year: R 1200 RT / 2012 (Camhead)
        Re: Fuel Strip
        « Reply #2 on: 2021-06-15 17:12:03 »
        Found another video by Jimmy2Tea's, "BMW R1200GS (K25) Replacing a faulty fuel level strip sensor".

        Shows how to connect the strip to the tank filler neck without being a gynecologist!

        (PC now not being returned until tomorrow).
        « Last Edit: 2021-06-15 17:27:41 by David. »

        Offlinematgriff

        • Newbie
        • *
        • Posts: 46
          • Model/year: 2005 RT1200
          Re: Fuel Strip
          « Reply #3 on: 2021-06-16 16:10:27 »
          Hi, thanks for the info. Yes I watched that first video, seems pretty straightforward. I think I'll just buy the new fuel strip and replace it.


          Thx


          Mat

          OfflineNick Evans

          • Jr. Member
          • **
          • Posts: 64
          • Country: gb
            • Model/year: R1200RT 2009
            Re: Fuel Strip
            « Reply #4 on: 2021-06-26 16:01:30 »
            You will need to calibrate it once you change it, for which you need a GS-911 or a dealer

            Offlinezzwenn

            • Newbie
            • *
            • Posts: 14
            • Country: gb
              • Model/year: R1200RT/2005
              Re: Fuel Strip
              « Reply #5 on: 2021-06-30 16:57:01 »
              @matgriff did you solve the issue? How did you?
              Basically I have the same problem. Run dry at 325 miles whilst the fuel gauge showed about 1/5 full. Now I just use the odometer to gauge the fuel :D
              But it would be nice to fix it :)

              Offlinematgriff

              • Newbie
              • *
              • Posts: 46
                • Model/year: 2005 RT1200
                Re: Fuel Strip
                « Reply #6 on: 2021-07-03 11:06:34 »
                Not done it yet, I'll wait until winter and then strip it all down & replace. Just using the trip meter for the moment.


                Oh, yes I have a GS911 tool to do the calibration too :-)




                Mat

                Offlineds99

                • Sr. Member
                • ****
                • Posts: 381
                • Country: gb
                  • Model/year: r1200rt 2007
                  Re: Fuel Strip
                  « Reply #7 on: 2021-07-13 10:08:55 »
                  my 2007 RT has had three fuel strips replaced. all have failed in someway.


                  sometimes the "distance to empty" fails completely. sometimes it mis-reads.


                  i gave up on it and just fill when the trip counter reaches near 280 miles

                  OnlineGogs11uk

                  • Newbie
                  • *
                  • Posts: 20
                  • Country: scotland
                    • Model/year: 2009 R1200RT
                    Re: Fuel Strip
                    « Reply #8 on: 2021-07-13 23:51:54 »
                    Just tried the piezo trick with my faulty fuel strip. It took a couple of days to register as it should but at least it's done it and apprears to be working right at present. Noticed that when i filled the tank again today it took a few minutes to register from 1/4 full to full, but it appears to be working ok. Still going by the miles covered route at present until I know for sue it is reading correctly.

                    OfflineNick Evans

                    • Jr. Member
                    • **
                    • Posts: 64
                    • Country: gb
                      • Model/year: R1200RT 2009
                      Re: Fuel Strip
                      « Reply #9 on: 2021-07-20 17:02:32 »
                      The ZFE only polls the fuels strip once every 30 seconds, and it requires 2 readings to change the level, so it always takes time to register the change of level. If you have a GS-911 you can see the heater voltage being applied and removed.
                      I have tried the piezo trick a few times but gave up on it in the end. If the break is in the sense track then when you weld the strip back together the weld may have a slightly different resistance, so the reading may be inaccurate, and I found after a while it breaks again anyway. Once upon a time I thought about doing a float conversion (there is a kit somewhere) but I think whenever I finally get home I will replace the bike rather than the fuel strip.