2011 R1200RT Brakes

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
HowardE

2011 R1200RT Brakes

Post by HowardE »

With spring approaching I'm going to replace the brake pads on my 2011 RT. What brand and type of brake pad are most of you riders using and from what suppier?  Also if I replace them myself are there any gottchas or tricks that I need to know. Thanks in advance.
Budman

Re: 2011 R1200RT Brakes

Post by Budman »

Most people go with the EBC line of brake pads. They make several different types for motorcycles and can be specific to your kind of riding. They have a very informative web site. Just Google EBC Brakes.
Replacing the pads is pretty straight forward. Just be sure that you  torque all the bolts back to spec. 
guest2360

Post by guest2360 »

As a retired parts manager I have made lots of money replacing discs on bikes that have been fitted with after market pads.  My advice fit original Brembo ones.  If nothing else they have a long life compared with other stuff. 
Last edited by guest2360 on Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
stelyn

Post by stelyn »

[attachimg=2]
HowardE wrote: With spring approaching I'm going to replace the brake pads on my 2011 RT. What brand and type of brake pad are most of you riders using and from what suppier?  Also if I replace them myself are there any gottchas or tricks that I need to know. Thanks in advance.
Hi  HowardE, Hope this photo pdf is of use, - just open the below  pdf file for sequence /other photos ;    ( some of the last para should be with the first photo ie `spring clip  )           
Regards,
Steve      ;)
Attachments
IMG_0572.JPG
Brakes.pdf
(520 KiB) Downloaded 249 times
Last edited by stelyn on Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Only a Motorcyclist knows why a dog rides with his head out the car window
David.
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT (Camhead) 2012
Been liked: 332 times
Great Britain

Post by David. »