My First BMW Motorcycle- Christmas came early!!!

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
Chad E.

My First BMW Motorcycle- Christmas came early!!!

Post by Chad E. »

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the world of BMW motorcycles. I recently purchased a 2008 R1200RT with 5800 miles on it off of eBay. I live in Salt Lake City, Utah and a couple of weeks ago I flew out to Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to pick it up and ride it on home. I also own a 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King, but wanted something better suited for cross-country travel. I plan on participated in my first IBA ride in the spring next year. A large group of us plan on riding from coast to coast (San Diego, CA to Jacksonville, FL) in the in less than 50 hours. I felt that I would have the best chance of completing this ride on a BMW R1200RT. I pulled the trigger and ended up with a great motorcycle.

The first time that I sat down on my new motorcycle, I rode it 100 miles. I'm glad that it went well since I bought my R1200RT before ever even sitting on it. My second day of ownership I rode it just over 300 miles from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma to Vega, Texas. On Day 3, I journeyed 800 miles from Vega, Texas to St George, Utah. Day 4, I rode just over 300 miles from St George, UT to my home in Salt Lake City, UT. I was so impressed with how well my R1200RT rode and performed. I'm in love! I completed 1500 miles in my first 4 days of ownership! Too bad that it snowed right after I got home and it's been very cold ever since.

I apologize for the long and boring intro, but I look forward to being part of the BMW R1200RT community and discovering more of the beauties of this bike. I've already learned quite a bit from reading your posts on this forum. Thank you! There are so many cool things to add to this motorcycle. It's been a blast so far. I look forward to many adventures.
Attachments
s-l1600 h-2.jpg
Spencert231

Re: My First BMW Motorcycle- Christmas came early!!!

Post by Spencert231 »