K100RT

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
circlehappenork

K100RT

Post by circlehappenork »

I've got an offer to get an '85 K100RT customised as a cafe racer. I've seen the bike, but I'm no mechanic. So I could only trust the seller, that he tells the truth. The bike is said to have done 150k miles. No engine rebuilt, new clutch and the seller said that the rear drive splines were lubricated now and then and that they are in good condition. That was the only thing I knew to ask when I've viewed the bike. The offer stands for £2k. Any thoughts/ suggestions?
Last edited by circlehappenork on Thu May 19, 2016 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
guest3713

K100RT

Post by guest3713 »

circlehappenork wrote: I've got an offer to get an '85 K100RT customised as a cafe racer. I've seen the bike, but I'm no mechanic. So I could only trust the seller, that he tells the truth. The bike is said to have done 150k miles. No engine rebuilt, new clutch and the seller said that the rear drive splines were lubricated now and then and that they are in good condition. That was the only thing I knew to ask when I've viewed the bike. The offer stands for £2k. Any thoughts/ suggestions?

I bought '73 R75/5 Toaster last year for $1500.00 Owner was asking $4500.00.

I'd look at the bike with a very critical eye and try your best to estimate what it would cost you to restore the bike to full road worthiness, meaning everything works as it's supposed to. Research, research, research that model and year for others who have restored. You will undoubtedly find someone who has done a full restore and documented it. Learn about the cost, specific items to look for, and pitfalls. There
will undoubtedly be pitfalls.