New RT Rider - Couple of Questions

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
O2TheL

New RT Rider - Couple of Questions

Post by O2TheL »

Hi all - newbie here.  I'm a brit, but have lived in the US for 10 years.
I just picked up an '09 R1200RT from a friend of mine, after lusting after it for a few years.  I also have an '11 Ducati Diavel that I'll be keeping for days when I feel like  >:D

I brought and sold a V-Strom last year and a V-Rod the year before that.  Neither bike suited me for various reasons, but I can already tell that the RT will be staying longer (unless it makes sense to buy a newer one).

I love the ease of riding on the RT.  Brakes feel great, acceleration is OK (Ducati aside), handing is smooth and predicable on corners - all things that the V-Strom wasn't great at. 

Couple of questions:
- Is it typical to feel a vibration in the bars at around 80mph?  Not a huge issue, but could see that getting old on a long ride.
- Any tips for not scuffing the rear cases when mounting/dis-mounting - other than just getting used to swinging my legs over more?
- Is is possible to hook up an ipod or sat radio to speakers - or is it even worth it?  Typically use helmet mounted earphones.

Plan on doing some long rides and I think this might be the right tool for the job.

Thanks!
Attachments
20160810_182251.jpg
guest2360

Re: New RT Rider - Couple of Questions

Post by guest2360 »

Welcome to the forum.  Can't see any ariel on the bike so there ain't any speakers.
Keep scuffing the pannier lids. You're not alone.  If you keep doing it, just stand on the foot peg with the bike on its side stand.  Just cover the front brake lever. 
They all have some vibration but a good service will smooth things out.  On yours it's every 6K or 1 year.  Some use Grip puppies to soften any vibes.
Noel

Post by Noel »

O2TheL wrote:
Couple of questions: