2017 RT diffs - transmission shaft and bearing - any prior issues?

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
jbbli

2017 RT diffs - transmission shaft and bearing - any prior issues?

Post by jbbli »

I'm new to the RT forum, as I am going to trade up from a 2013 F800GT with 24k miles to an RT this fall. I'm anxiously awaiting being able to get into the queue for delivery. But I wonder, as deals for remaining 2016 RT's start to pop up, what are the reasons for the judder damper, transmission shaft and bearing changes in the 2017 model? I get the attempt to improve gearbox selection (ie., "clunk"),is that the reason for the drivetrain changes? Or, is there some other issue that is popping up now that the original train has been in the field for 2+ years?

Thanks in advance, and Hello!

guest2360

Re: 2017 RT diffs - transmission shaft and bearing - any prior issues?

Post by guest2360 »

No reason at all that I can make out.  Probably to justify price increases.
jbbli

Post by jbbli »

So it's just a matter of the bank-optimized ABS Pro. Never missed it with 'regular' ABS on my 800GT - now trying to decide if I "can't live without it" on a new RT...  ;) . Plus Ebony Black vs Carbon Black...Oh the agony!!
ckreling

Post by ckreling »

The ebony is not really black it is brown. 
Noel

Post by Noel »

jbbli wrote: So it's just a matter of the bank-optimized ABS Pro. Never missed it with 'regular' ABS on my 800GT - now trying to decide if I "can't live without it" on a new RT...  ;) . Plus Ebony Black vs Carbon Black...Oh the agony!!

I moved up from F800GT also w/ 26K miles to a new '16 RT.  ABS Pro is attractive to me and I'm hoping they allow for retrofit for '16's.  This is a feature you likely will never know you have but in the event you are leaned over and need to brake harder and are unable to straighten up before braking it make be useful.  Others here have opined the telelever front end can obviate the need for ABS Pro, at least some.