New 2016 R1200RT report and questions

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
smenard415

New 2016 R1200RT report and questions

Post by smenard415 »

Greetings,

Newbie here.  Took delivery of a 2016 R1200RT a week ago.  So far, 600 miles worth, I am enjoying this bike tremendously.  My other bike is a 2009 HD Screamin Eagle Roadglide so this is quite a change for me after 40 years of nothing but HD's.  The much lighter weight and the great handling are my favorite things about the bike so far.

The only downsides I can find are the very skinny grips and the clutch.  Not sure why the grips are so small but my poor old arthritic hands do not like them much.  After two hours or so I get hand cramps.  My biggest complaint though is the clutch.  To release it you have to go almost completely to the end of the lever travel.  I can literally hit the clutch lever with one finger and shift.  The hardest situation is slipping the clutch leaving a light or a stop sign as the clutch is either engaged or not engaged.  Kind of like a light switch.  It's either on or off.

Other than that I'm loving it.  It is very sharp looking and a blast to ride.  I am getting so strange looks though as my jacket and my helmet are both from HD.  I haven't stopped riding long enough to look for new gear.

Thanks,

SteveM
Casbar
Been liked: 45 times
Great Britain

Re: New 2016 R1200RT report and questions

Post by Casbar »

Welcome, I came from 7 years on Harley, my last Harley which I sold in June was a 2014 CVO Road King. My RT is a 2014. I also found the grips narrow, so I put some grip puppies on, which helps a lot, it also helps with any vibration. As for the clutch, i can honestly say i haven't found any issues. The only thing I miss is the torque from the HD, so I found it quite easy to stall the RT if not in 1st and I had to lean to use more revs, but now used to it.
pkpilot
Been liked: 1 time

Post by pkpilot »