Sena 10R - handelbar remote needed?

Got any questions about the BMW's R1200RT/R1250RT's onboard audio, Bluetooth or the Electrical system?
mitcher16

Sena 10R - handelbar remote needed?

Post by mitcher16 »

Hi, I am new to the 'helmet communication' so have a few questions.
I will be purchasing the Nav V or the new Nav VI (when it comes out, not sure when) and from what I have read that unit controls phone calls, GPS, music. Essentially the GPS unit becomes the smart hub in a way.
From what I have seen the Sena remote on the handlebar allows you to change songs, volume and perhaps a few other things. With the multi-controller and the GPS unit controlling all of that stuff I wouldn't need to purchase the Sena remote, correct?
Hope this question made sense.
thx!
guest3075

Re: Sena 10R - handelbar remote needed?

Post by guest3075 »

I think you have the basics right, but you might be disappointed with the quality of Bluetooth for music via the GPS.

When I pair the iPhone direct to the BMW Helmet the sound is very good, but when via the GPS it's very poor.

Also, when I use the direct connection to the bike and then Bluetooth that way, the music isn't very good quality.

I'd suggest trying before you buy.

What helmet are you using?
mitcher16

Post by mitcher16 »

ItsOnlyMe wrote: I think you have the basics right, but you might be disappointed with the quality of Bluetooth for music via the GPS.
When I pair the iPhone direct to the BMW Helmet the sound is very good, but when via the GPS it's very poor.
Also, when I use the direct connection to the bike and then Bluetooth that way, the music isn't very good quality.
I'd suggest trying before you buy.
What helmet are you using?
thanks for the info. Something to think about.