2014 R1200RT doesn't start on 1st try

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
spud webb

2014 R1200RT doesn't start on 1st try

Post by spud webb »

Hi, I'm new to the RT family! I had a 2009 R1200R for 6 years!

I recently traded in my 2009 R1200R for a 2014 R1200RT. I absolutely think the RT is great! Only issue I have is that it doesn't start on the first try, unless it's been charged up with my battery tender, however it does start on the 2nd attempt. I purchased the RT about 2 months ago & was told by my sales person that they installed a new battery in it because it wouldn't hold a charge. It only had 1,720 miles on it & was 3 years old! At first the bike could sit for 3 or 4 days (after disconnecting it from the battery tender) before it wouldn't start on first try. Now it won't start on 1st try the next morning after driving it for at least 30 - 40 minutes, the day before. I took in into my dealer today & the service tech said all the new water cooled engines do this! Anyone had the same issue? My wife has a 2014 F700GS that starts on the first crank & so did my R1200RT.
mcwhirtj

Re: 2014 R1200RT doesn't start on 1st try

Post by mcwhirtj »

Does it idle ok once it starts?  Reason I ask is that I had an idle control module go bad on one cylinder, and it had a hard time starting in first try.  But key symptom was rough idle.  '08 RT.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
guest2360

Post by guest2360 »

If you run through the info menu you will find it will give you your battery voltage once the bike is running.  Should show 14.something volts. 
And the bike should start first time every time even  if it sits for weeks. 
Levisp

Post by Levisp »