advanced riding course

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
michaelc2710
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 29 times
Great Britain

advanced riding course

Post by michaelc2710 »

Has anyone been on an advanced riding course? I've been riding for approximately 25 yrs but just fancy going on one for the experience.

Did you get anything from the course?
Would you recommend doing a course?
Does anyone know of a course in the North

Many thanks
k9doc
Bike Model and Year: 2013 TC 90th Anniversary Edition
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 11 times
Great Britain

Re: advanced riding course

Post by k9doc »

Way back I did a course with a retired police instructor, a regular and sensible contributor on another BMW forum. Two days intense one to one up in the Dales. Hard work and exhausting but boy did I learn some stuff. Best bike related money I've ever spent. Mick subsequently finished training and spent more time on guided tours. He passed the business on to the chap in the link and highly rates his abilities. That is a recommendation which in my view carries a lot of credibility. Not too far from you as Sheffield based

https://www.advancedridingtechniques.info/

Last edited by k9doc on Mon May 29, 2017 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chris
Dogbreath

Post by Dogbreath »

I'd been riding around 25 years when, about 4 years ago, I decided to take a "Bikesafe" weekend with the local police.
It was very good and you get detailed feedback on your riding and great advice on road positioning etc.
Whilst there the local IAM were promoting there club so I decided to join and eventually passed my advanced riding test.

Go for it. It'll be the best money you spend.
Oldbrook

Post by Oldbrook »