Vibration over uneven surfaces - should I be worried?

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
guest5111

Vibration over uneven surfaces - should I be worried?

Post by guest5111 »

I'm new to the RT, still getting a feel for the bike. It's a 2016 plate SE, 4000 miles, up to date with servicing. I've noticed a harshness when riding on poor surfaces, such as ripples in tarmac or where the road has been repaired. It feels like I'm riding across a washboard, and the first time it happened I wondered if something had come loose from the underside. The vibes seem to emanate from an area slightly behind and below my feet. It disappears on good road surfaces, and seems to have no effect on the bike's performance.

I read somewhere of a similar effect from 'shaft backlash', but don't know whether that is it. I've done a visual check, pushed and pulled various stuff such as both stands, and all seems solid.

I'd appreciate the collective consciousness of the Forum - is this just the 'character' of the bike, or a problem?
pkpilot
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Vibration over uneven surfaces - should I be worried?

Post by pkpilot »

Back2TheBike wrote: I'm new to the RT, still getting a feel for the bike. It's a 2016 plate SE, 4000 miles, up to date with servicing. I've noticed a harshness when riding on poor surfaces, such as ripples in tarmac or where the road has been repaired. It feels like I'm riding across a washboard, and the first time it happened I wondered if something had come loose from the underside. The vibes seem to emanate from an area slightly behind and below my feet. It disappears on good road surfaces, and seems to have no effect on the bike's performance.

I read somewhere of a similar effect from 'shaft backlash', but don't know whether that is it. I've done a visual check, pushed and pulled various stuff such as both stands, and all seems solid.