New to the RT: tips?

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
rens

New to the RT: tips?

Post by rens »

Hi all-

I’ve just traded my 98 1100GS for a 2017 RT, hence signing up here. I’ve been riding bikes for 30+ years and beemers for the last 10 but aside from a few rental experiences (which sold me) this is my first RT. I’ve read a bunch of the posts here and have been on advrider for a long time but since this is my first RT and first high tech bike (I’ve always ridden airheads and oilheads except for a brief F650GS but BMW today is a totally different beast to BMW of the past) I thought I’d ask for pointers from you experts...particularly as I understand this bike isnt very DIY friendly compared to what I am used to.

My riding is daily in-town (London) weekly countryside and a couple of times a year longer trips and abroad; I dont currently own anything with more than 2 wheels.

Thank for any and all responses!

Rens

ds99

Re: New to the RT: tips?

Post by ds99 »

I own a 2007 RT and also live in London, but the bike is too big for London's roads so I use a smaller bike day-to-day.

The RT is a great bike and the only things I have done are:

- bar risers which move the bars upwards and rearwards a little
- a bigger screen
- heavier bar end weights to cure the tingling/numbness in the hands
- Garmin satnav added above the console
- extra mirrors as I find the standard mirrors are crap

I guess cylinder plastic head guards are a good idea too? And maybe crash bars?

This place is a good for BMW servicing, near Luton. Much cheaper then BMW dealers.

[size=2px]https://www.motoscot.co.uk[/size]
rens

Post by rens »

Thanks for that.  Any advice on rt crash bars here in the uk? Ive used wunderlich before which are just ok, and touratech which were ££ but those were both on gs machines.  Im not sure the plastic caps are worth much. 

I hate garmin.  What are rt people doing to mount iphones? On my other bikes ive used quadlock standoffs which are pretty nice.