Cylinder base gasket leaking

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
Mrb1

Cylinder base gasket leaking

Post by Mrb1 »

Hi all, wondering if any clever people have any words of wisdom on an oil leak from the cylinder base gasket. There is a drip on one side when the engine is started and a mechanic has looked at it. He believes it to be due to the gasket and it is leaking from a from a nut at the base. I am told that this would take a days work to fix and cost quite alot of money. My question is, whilst fully realising that this would be a tough job- can it be done by myself with the right tools and parts? Ordering a new gasket wouln't be a problem but I guess to get to the base gasket would require dismantling a large portion of the cylinder head/block?
Graham88
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Cylinder base gasket leaking

Post by Graham88 »

I'm no expert and I'm sure someone here will correct me if I'm wrong but I thought one of the advantages of the boxer was the relative ease of working on the cylinders, pistons , valves etc. They do stick out the sides after all.

You can do pretty much any job yourself if you have the skills and tools and general knowhow. I wouldn't think twice about that kind of job on mine - a cylinder/head gasket on my CBR on the other hand would probably be a dealer job, because of the PITA factor. A new clutch on the CBR would be an easy job and a ball ache for the RT.

guest5886

Post by guest5886 »

I don't understand if the oil leak is coming from the cylinder head or base. The former has a gasket but the latter is sealed with engine sealant. BMW uses Japanese ThreeBond sealants which are usually very good but also rabidly expensive for the DIY customer. They can be easily replaced with Yamaha or Toyota engine sealant.