Final drive oil leak?

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
Sharkfighter
Bike Model and Year: 2013 1200RT
Been liked: 16 times
Great Britain

Final drive oil leak?

Post by Sharkfighter »

I’m new to BMW, been a Honda man.  I’ve recently purchased an R1200RT and I’ve noticed some oil on the back wheel, not a lot but it’s there.  Also around the end of the shaft, behind the wheel there’s small amounts.  I’ve wiped it and it smells like gear oil. The previous owner had a new seal fitted not that long ago.  When I move the bike there is a clicking noise, which sounds as if it’s coming from the shaft area.  Any ideas what it could be?  I think it could be caused by low oil but I welcome any suggestions.
milleplod
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Final drive oil leak?

Post by milleplod »

Welcome to the Forum.
Not sure what year your bike is, but.......if a seal's recently been replaced, you could first of all check the speed sensor on the rear wheel. If the back end's been apart, the O-ring on the sensor can get chewed up or not be seated properly. Who did the seal replacement, and which one was replaced? The outer one, on the opposite side to the wheel, is easy to do - some 'overspill' from the previous leak (presumably that's why the last owner replaced whichever seal....) can sit behind the snap-in black plastic finisher ring and continue to dribble out till it's all gone, making you think your seal's gone again. That, of course, presupposes it was the outer one that was done.
I've no experience of the seal on the other side failing, so can't comment on that.
Pete
Sharkfighter
Great Britain

Post by Sharkfighter »