Riding and seat height on my 2008 RT

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
Rider1260

Riding and seat height on my 2008 RT

Post by Rider1260 »

I am very new to my bike and am really happy overall , handling, speed, comfort wish I would have been able to do this years ago.
I am now fine tuning the bike for me a brake pedal extender, new GPS and now I am on to ride height or more importantly non moving height.
I have a Rick Meyer saddle that came with the bike, it is very comfortable tho showing its age and it is VERY tall on the low setting ( as it is in the pics ) I'm in tip toe mode if I want both feet down, I can one foot it and have been but I thought I might like a bit more security, found a killer deal on a stock seat unfortunately it seems to be a low seat., and it does make getting both feet down easy even on the highest setting but I feel like I'm riding a chopper, and always looking thru the windshield.
So wondering if just getting the Rick Meyer seat reshaped, I bit less foam on the side near the front and maybe a bit less padding near the tank to make it a bit more narrow so I don't lose the riding position I like but making reaching Terra firma a bit easier. Do you all think I can have my cake and eat it to, or should I just get used to one foot or tip toes.
Attachments
11D80EA5-5EBC-468E-AC8C-3F93813210CB.jpg
9C3045F9-CD35-4F19-B812-0A488EBB6C6C.jpg
Rick B

Re: Riding and seat height on my 2008 RT

Post by Rick B »

Not sure if your in the UK,but if you are this guy can help you out.he does great work and i can vouch,he did my Diavel NT 700 and ZX10r.Worth a try.

https://tonyarcher.co.uk/services/bike-seats/
PeteM

Post by PeteM »