Newb looking to hear from people who have switched from GS/A to an RT

Feel free to talk about anything and everything in this board.
Gadgetech

Newb looking to hear from people who have switched from GS/A to an RT

Post by Gadgetech »

I'm a newbie to this forum and my specific reason for being here is to read what others are saying that have moved from a GS/A to an RT.  I live in North Georgia (US) and we have a bunch of curvy roads around here.  I currently own a 2019 GS (I had a 2019 GSA that got totaled in an accident) however I'm going to soon need a bike more adept at interstate riding.  I 'know' that realistically the RT is the better bike but the GS/A is such a great allrounder.  Plus, I have a real concern for how hot I'll be during the hot and humid summer months.  The only time I go off-road is when I'm on a road that happens to not be paved lol.  I've already seen some comments from others about this and generally folks seem to be happy about the change and I will keep reading to gain insight.  Feel free to share any of your own thoughts about moving from a GS/A to an RT.  If I'm to get an RT, I'll wait until the 2021 is out and I'll be honest, that screen is fabulous.  I feel BMW Connected is far easier to work with than deal with my Garmin Nav6/Basecamp.  Also, no real interest in owning 2 bikes so I need 1 good one.  It's likely going to come down to the new GSA or RT although going the GSA route means still dealing with a nav device for onscreen maps.My bike ownership experience has included: Big touring Harleys, Ducati Multistrada, Triumph Speed Triple, Hexhead RT, GSA and now currently a GS.
beemerboy9
Bike Model and Year: 1250RT 2019
Been liked: 16 times
Great Britain

Re: Newb looking to hear from people who have switched from GS/A to an RT

Post by beemerboy9 »

Well - if you were able to mate a Multistrada with a big, touring Harley the love child would be an RT. What else do you want to know?
John Bentall
simbo
Bike Model and Year: RT 2011