General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
Doctor T
Bike Model and Year: 2007 R1200RT SE
Has liked: 909 times
Been liked: 239 times
Great Britain

Hand guards on r1200rt

Post by Doctor T »

Hi Chaps. Heated grips are fine for my palm and inside fingers but the top of my hands are still cold from the wind. Has anyone fitted handguards?. Looks quite easy to fit as my 2007 has holes on both sides of the switchgear. Not looking for fancy Barkbuters but i think cheap Chinese eBay would do the job.
Last edited by Doctor T on Mon Jan 17, 2022 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Trust me I am a retired Doctor and lecturer at Oxford University of Structural and Mechanical/Electrical engineering.
Our Gee
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2011
Been liked: 24 times
Great Britain

Re: Hand guards on r1200rt

Post by Our Gee »

Are you using good “winter” gloves ?.
Casbar
Been liked: 45 times
Great Britain

Post by Casbar »

Get some heated gloves
pkpilot
Been liked: 1 time

Post by pkpilot »

Sometimes called elephant ears, or handle bar muffs. Wunderlich makes them (expensive), Oxford Rain Seal (may no longer be available), or Hippo Hands.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
David.
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT (Camhead) 2012
Been liked: 333 times
Great Britain

Post by David. »

Doctor T wrote:Has anyone fitted handguards. My 2007 has holes on both sides of the switchgear. Looking for cheap Chinese would do the job.
Haven't fitted handguards myself but as the bike has the holes this might allow more options.

Have a look at AliExpress, they list some universal handguards for an R1200RT.
Last edited by David. on Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Doctor T
Great Britain

Post by Doctor T »

Thanks for the input. I still think i will go down the handguard route. Never got on with handlebar Muffs. Tried them for a week when i was a London dispatch rider in the early 80's and hated them.