Bike trailer

Looking for Aftermarket parts and Accessories for your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT or found something useful you want to share? Or just a general question?
Doctor T
Bike Model and Year: 2007 R1200RT SE
Has liked: 878 times
Been liked: 230 times
Great Britain

Bike trailer

Post by Doctor T »

Not sure if this is the correct section to post this, so, please replace if needed.

Years ago i used to tow a small two wheeled trailer. I made it from a car roof box. Like the ones, you can buy from Halfords. I would like to do this again so i need some information on companies that make tow bars for bikes. Is there any company in the UK that can supply one?.

My old trailer looked like this.

Attachments
motorcycle-trailer.jpg
Trust me I am a retired Doctor and lecturer at Oxford University of Structural and Mechanical/Electrical engineering.
David.
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT (Camhead) 2012
Been liked: 332 times
Great Britain

Re: Bike trailer

Post by David. »

A "Google" search hasn't thrown up any UK tow bar manufacturers, there are a couple in the US.

In the UK, found a custom made one but now sold, https://picclick.co.uk/A-Towing-Hitch-To-Fit-A-BMW-162794463260.html

Mono-trail, Single Wheel Motorcycle Trailer to tow behind your bike - Mono-Trail make trailers and attachments for towing but not a tow ball.

They invite feedback to develop new and existing products. Might be worth making contact with Mono-trail.

Last edited by David. on Sun Feb 27, 2022 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Doctor T
Great Britain

Post by Doctor T »

Thought it may be harder to find a manufacturer in the UK. I've emailed a few in the US and await their reply
Trust me I am a retired Doctor and lecturer at Oxford University of Structural and Mechanical/Electrical engineering.
Our Gee
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2011
Been liked: 24 times
Great Britain

Post by Our Gee »

Are there any insurance implications to be considered.
David.
Subscriber
Great Britain

Post by David. »