Puff of Smoke

Having Problems with your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT? or have some Maintenance and Service questions?
Gavj
Bike Model and Year: R1250RT 2020
Has liked: 10 times
Been liked: 15 times
Great Britain

Puff of Smoke

Post by Gavj »

So, bike's been in my garage for a few weeks, not unusua, it can sit there a few weeks at a time. Started it up and it gave a cough then filled the garden with smoke! Smoke ceared almost instanty and hasn't done it again. I park it on the sidestand of that makes a difference... any ideas?

2020 1250 RT with 8000 miles, dealer serviced 8 months ago. Checked oil level, looks fine.
keith1200r

Re: Puff of Smoke

Post by keith1200r »

I think it is a known effect when you park boxers on the sidestand, although I am no expert and always use the centre stand in the garage. Oil collects in the lower cylinder head on the side stand
Gavj
Great Britain

Post by Gavj »

thanks for the response, I had heard that re the older models but had assumed that they had fixed the issue on the newer generation of engines....... I will mention it to the dealer at next service, still under warranty so will see what they say.
Gavj
Great Britain

Post by Gavj »

Dont know if its related but the engine light came on yesterday! Bike being picked up this morning by BMW assist.......
Gavj
Great Britain

Post by Gavj »

Update,,,, just had another call from BMW Assist, there arranging to drop off a replacement bike for me while mine is in..... wasnt expecting that! Had a quick google and apparently its part of the 3yr warranty...
Gavj
Great Britain

Post by Gavj »

update on the update..... they don't do replacement bikes in Scotland  :shirty: ..... I can have a car if I want........

Anyway, recovery trucks been and bikes on its way to dealers......
keith1200r

Post by keith1200r »

I'm interested to know the outcome.
Gavj
Great Britain

Post by Gavj »