Best puncture repair

Best tyres and oil for your R1200RT/R1250RT get other users opinions here.
Steve398
Bike Model and Year: R1200RTLC, 2018
Has liked: 261 times
Been liked: 218 times
Isle of Wight

Best puncture repair

Post by Steve398 »

With 4 weeks to go until our Greek tour I thought it might be a good idea to try out the ‘Stop and Go’ puncture repair kit that I’ve been toting around on the bike for a few years. Now I’ve been lucky I guess in not getting a flat tyre in over 40 years of touring, but I always fit new tyres before our month-long trips which has always seemed a good plan.

So out I go and drill a nail-sized hole in an used PR4 rear tyre that I’ve meaning to dispose of for some time, and then fight to get the supplied reamer into the hole. What an absolute pig, I heaved and struggled for ages, resorting to a work glove (not supplied) to protect my hand, but finally reamed and enlarged the hole. In accordance with the instructions I then attempted to insert the plug tool, 10 cursing minutes later it’s in. Again following instructions I screwed down the supplied Allen key that’s meant to force the mushroom plug into and through the hole… absolutely no chance! This kit’s about as much use as a chocolate fire guard. If I’d have been in the arse-end of Greece and hoping to fix my tyre I’d be plumb out of luck!

So… who’s used a kit that works please?
burridge01
Bike Model and Year: Modified "16" R1200RT
Been liked: 192 times
Great Britain

Re: Best puncture repair

Post by burridge01 »

I use,erm,,,,,,,,Stop n Go.The 2 times I've used it was without a problem.Very easy,better than string.

As an aside,the two times I did use it I blew the tyre up with a small compact RAC type of pump,always struggled as it got to the necessary pressure so I invested in 1 of the Desert Fox jobbies.

https://superbike-news.co.uk/battle-fla ... esert-fox/

Not had to use it yet,should do the job with ease :thumb:
Steve398
Isle of Wight

Post by Steve398 »