New helmet time. Which one?

Got any questions on clothing? Want to write a review to help others in choosing the right gear?
Doctor T
Bike Model and Year: 2007 R1200RT SE
Has liked: 877 times
Been liked: 230 times
Great Britain

New helmet time. Which one?

Post by Doctor T »

New helmet time. Am after a flip front again but my fingers cross a tad quieter. I have a few on my list but just can't make up my mind. I have tried on all the helmets. Trying it on is a lot different from using it every day.

1. SCHUBERTH C5. Have heard reviews that this helmet isn't as good as a C3
2. LS2 FF906 carbon. Like the idea as it turns into a jet helmet. Suspect it is noisy.
3. Shoei Neotec 2. Some say it's the quietest while others say there is a lot of wind noise
4. Schuberth C4 Pro. Don't know much about this one
5. Schuberth C3 Pro. Some say this is the best of the C range.
If you have or had any of the above helmets please can you leave a comment.
Trust me I am a retired Doctor and lecturer at Oxford University of Structural and Mechanical/Electrical engineering.
rory2112
Bike Model and Year: 2014 rt
Has liked: 1 time
Been liked: 1 time
Great Britain

Re: New helmet time. Which one?

Post by rory2112 »

I'm just about to return my new Schuberth C3 Pro as it's bloody uncomfortable. Yes i have a big old head and usually wear an XL Caberg which fits really well but is now 13 years old and hence time for a new one. The Schuberth is 2xl but still far too small and uncomfortable.
Sullivj
Has liked: 18 times
Been liked: 15 times
Great Britain

Post by Sullivj »

I have a HUGE head (68). I have an HJC IS MAX, flip front in Fluro.

They don't sell it in my size in the UK, but they do in Germany, so I got it from there. At around £135, it was MUCH cheaper than most, but still a decent helmet with no too much wind noise.
burridge01
Bike Model and Year: Modified "16" R1200RT
Been liked: 190 times
Great Britain

Post by burridge01 »