Doctor T
Bike Model and Year: 2007 R1200RT SE
Has liked: 909 times
Been liked: 239 times
Great Britain

Free Shaft replacement from BMW

Post by Doctor T »

Don't get Shafted
Trust me I am a retired Doctor and lecturer at Oxford University of Structural and Mechanical/Electrical engineering.
Wierpig
Has liked: 5 times
Been liked: 4 times
Great Britain

Re: Free Shaft replacement from BMW

Post by Wierpig »

Has anyone had confirmation of this from BMW?
7vwh
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2014
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 33 times
Great Britain

Post by 7vwh »

Wierpig wrote: Sun Feb 25, 2024 5:14 pm Has anyone had confirmation of this from BMW?
I had mine done last month. 2014, 29000 miles, completed when I took her in for the footrest circlip recall.
Steve398
Bike Model and Year: R1200RTLC, 2018
Has liked: 280 times
Been liked: 238 times
Isle of Wight

Post by Steve398 »

Mine was done last month too, 2018 @ 31000 miles
Mac001
Bike Model and Year: R1250 RT LE 2019
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 14 times
Great Britain

Post by Mac001 »

In the video it talks about having to have had the weep hole and drain rubber fitted, I think it says before the drive shift change. When I spoke to the dealer on Saturday he said BMW were not at the point of doing my bike yet, they have lots to do and are working through slowly. He mentioned I was nowhere near 30k miles yet. So for those who have had a new driveshaft fitted especially, but anyone else as well, has the “quality enhancement” of the weep hole and rubber been fitted as well?
7vwh
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2014
Has liked: 12 times
Been liked: 33 times
Great Britain

Post by 7vwh »

Mac001 wrote: Mon Feb 26, 2024 5:23 am So for those who have had a new driveshaft fitted especially, but anyone else as well, has the “quality enhancement” of the weep hole and rubber been fitted as well?
The weep hole was done at the same time as shaft replacement for me.
BoB21
Has liked: 39 times