AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Looking for Aftermarket parts and Accessories for your BMW R1200RT/R1250RT or found something useful you want to share? Or just a general question?
guest2360

AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

This might be useful if you intend to use Autocom. There seems to be some reluctance by dealers to fit it quoting excuses like " it wont work with Limbus"  Bike is obviously not fitted with an audio unit but the units will fit under the right hand panel or in the space under the luggage rack ie behind the pillion seat. System works great. Photo shows more connection cables than you would expect but I always attach extra extension leads so any damage to the ends is easily fixed.
Such a setup gives you and your pillion voice prompts and music from a Navy IV/V. 3 way phone connection via the Nav and of course rider to pillion communication.  Its all bike powered and automatic on switch on. Full cost of items approx. £300.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by guest2360 on Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
7vwh
Subscriber
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: East Yorkshire
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2014
Been liked: 12 times
Great Britain

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by 7vwh »

Great pic. I don't pick my RT up until sometime later this month but would appreciate a little help on powering the autocom and Bluetooth module. I have got a Fuzeblock and wiring loom ready to go! Cheers.[/size]
Last edited by 7vwh on Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

If you intend to fit it yourself I would advise you connect it to the battery direct using Autocom part 2437. Mine is wired to the block just in front of the ECU.  It was done by my dealer.  Be very weary about joining anything to the bikes Limbus system. You could end up with all sorts of error messages on the dash.
stever1
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:07 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by stever1 »

Pray tell, what's a limbus system ?
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by Maz12 »

stever1 wrote: Pray tell, what's a limbus system ?
Ha ha,  I've already asked the same question...  I'm told it's the next generation canbus ?
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

Seems to have appeared in 2013 on the 1600 and I suspect now on the whole model range.
Last edited by guest2360 on Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by Maz12 »

Last edited by Maz12 on Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
7vwh
Subscriber
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: East Yorkshire
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2014
Been liked: 12 times
Great Britain

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by 7vwh »

RTman, any chance of a close up photo showing your power feed connections for the autocom etc please.

guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

Would like to be more helpful.  Pic attached is where my dealer has connected the live  feed.  He has heavily taped it up which I don't want to disturb.  Earth goes directly to the battery. Hope this helps a bit. If I get the chance tomorrow I will find out which cable colour it is attached to. 
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by guest2360 on Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by Maz12 »

7vwh wrote: Great pic. I don't pick my RT up until sometime later this month but would appreciate a little help on powering the autocom and Bluetooth module. I have got a Fuzeblock and wiring loom ready to go! Cheers.[/size]
If you have the latest autocom then I believe the Bluetooth module takes its power from the autocom unit?
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

I do and unfortunately it doesn't. Mine is powered directly from the Logic power lead. 
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by Maz12 »

It must be only the SPA unit that has a power point for the Bluetooth module,  or at least mine does
User avatar
7vwh
Subscriber
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 9:16 pm
Location: East Yorkshire
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT 2014
Been liked: 12 times
Great Britain

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by 7vwh »

Cheers folks. I've got an old autocom so will be powering the BT module. I'll be fitting a Fuzeblock so just need to source a live feed. Once I get the bike I'll have a better idea of what's available i guess :-)
meadowd
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 6:15 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by meadowd »

I took an ignition live + feed from an unused plug under the seat on my non audio RT.  I rejected my bike and now have a 2015 model with audio so have changed the fitting slightly.  I have used an Intaride power source which connects direct to the battery and will be live only when the engine is running (i.e. when charging and battery voltage is in excess of 12.5V)  Another way is to splice in to the feed to the auxiliary plug at the rear, however you will need to fit a diode inline in order to prevent the autocom capacitors back feeding and powering up with the ignition off (The linbus system thinks a charger is connected and closes and opens the circuit in a continual cycle)
R1200RT LE and R1150GS
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT

Post by guest2360 »

Another slight annoyance is if you take power from the accessory plug feed it wont work for battery charging, at least not with a BMW charger. 
Post Reply