AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Got any questions about the BMW's R1200RT/R1250RT's onboard audio and Bluetooth?
Post Reply
guest2360

AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by guest2360 »

My RT LE is the first bike I have owned for about 8 years that hasn't had some kind of audio system fitted. I am therefore hooked on always having music on tap as well as GPS prompts. So on this one I have an Autocom Logic plus their BTMO2 A dongle. After 3 weeks I'm convinced the system is as good if not better than having everything through a £1050.00 Alpine unit.  I do not have volume control through the wheel but with the Nav V I have separate volume settings for music, GPS and phone all easily adjusted in the mixer menu.  It has never unpaired, so far, and of course is all bike powered.
Last edited by guest2360 on Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by Maz12 »

Had a similar set up on my K12GT,  except I had a zumo 400 wired to the autocom
What I liked about it was how the zumo paused a song when giving direction (as apposed to just lowering the volume of the song)
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by guest2360 »

Your right.  Music just stops when you get a GPS prompt.  When you talk though the music volume doesn't  lower.  Nicer in a way if you have a chatty pillion.
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by guest2360 »

I have noticed a peculiarity with my bluetooth setup if I connect the phone via my Navigator V.  Without the phone the system works great never disconnecting and providing great quality music through my Autocom Logic.  However with the phone connected I loose all prompts and music as soon as the phone rings.  It will not reconnect unless I switch off and on again. Any ideas.
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by Maz12 »

Might be worth emailing Sam at Chainspeed,  he knows his stuff
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by guest2360 »

Maz12 wrote: Might be worth emailing Sam at Chainspeed,  he knows his stuff
Thanks, might just do that.
User avatar
Shane.weeks
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:58 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by Shane.weeks »

Hi Guys, just bought a 2010 RT, has the audio system fitted with a USB connection in the R/H Glove box, I have obtained the lead to connect my iPhone 4s and can listen to the music from it through the speakers, but cannot alter the track selection via the wheel, only the volume works? When I plug in a USB I can use the track selection.
Prior to this bike, I used in ear monitors to listen direct into the iPhone, this gives me Navigation directions too if I needed them. Now my question is, can I connect a Bluetooth Dongle into the USB connection in the glove box and pair my iPhone that way? Or what about a WiFi dongle and connect that way??
I don't use Bluetooth headsets as I like the noise reduction from the in ear monitors.
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by Maz12 »

Shane.weeks wrote: Hi Guys, just bought a 2010 RT, has the audio system fitted with a USB connection in the R/H Glove box, I have obtained the lead to connect my iPhone 4s and can listen to the music from it through the speakers, but cannot alter the track selection via the wheel, only the volume works? When I plug in a USB I can use the track selection.
Prior to this bike, I used in ear monitors to listen direct into the iPhone, this gives me Navigation directions too if I needed them. Now my question is, can I connect a Bluetooth Dongle into the USB connection in the glove box and pair my iPhone that way? Or what about a WiFi dongle and connect that way??
I don't use Bluetooth headsets as I like the noise reduction from the in ear monitors.

Did you buy a genuine BMW/iPhone lead or one off eBay ?  I thought I'd lost my genuine BMW lead so bought one from eBay/China,  it was hit n miss if it worked...  Found my genuine lead and not had a problem since
User avatar
Maz12
Posts: 436
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:38 am

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by Maz12 »

RTman10 wrote: I have noticed a peculiarity with my bluetooth setup if I connect the phone via my Navigator V.  Without the phone the system works great never disconnecting and providing great quality music through my Autocom Logic.  However with the phone connected I loose all prompts and music as soon as the phone rings.  It will not reconnect unless I switch off and on again. Any ideas.
DID YOU SORT THIS PROBLEM ?
guest2360

Re: AUTOCOM ON 2014 RT WITH BLUETOOTH

Post by guest2360 »

Maz12 wrote: DID YOU SORT THIS PROBLEM ?

No and life us too short to keep trying.  Its no problem to connect the phone directly to the Autocom dongle for auto-answering I am reliably informed. Yet again I haven't bothered.  So far as I know its only me with this problem, probably something is incomparable with my Windows phone.
Last edited by guest2360 on Mon Jul 20, 2015 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply