Winter storage

General discussion of the BMW R1200RT/R1250RT
Ventura

Winter storage

Post by Ventura »

Hi all,
Need advice on winter storage..... it's my first year with the RT. Last few years I used to add fuel ⛽️ stabilizer and charge the battery until May of the next year...is that enough??
Can I charge the battery while it is in the RT ?? ( Temperatures can drop to Minus 30 Celsius ..!!)
Thank you.
V.
David.
Subscriber
Bike Model and Year: R1200RT (Camhead) 2012
Been liked: 332 times
Great Britain

Re: Winter storage

Post by David. »

This thread about Laying Up/Winter Storage may be of interest, https://1200rt.com/viewtopic.php?t=7
guest2360

Post by guest2360 »

-30C.  Don't think any advise from over here is relavent to those temperatures.  Yes you can charge the battery on the bike but I would be tempted to take it off and keep it somewhere warmer.
richardbd
Been liked: 2 times

Post by richardbd »

My advice is - MOVE!!
:alas: :alas:
T6pilot
Been liked: 1 time

Post by T6pilot »

Full fuel tank, oil and filter change, same for final drive. Stabil marine grade fuel stablizer(purple) bike on center stand, if you can park bike on wood floor do so
Tires filled 3-4 pounds over normal, extreme cold would remove battery for warmer storage
Jim
Ventura

Post by Ventura »

Thank you.
I just had a look at the battery....I don't even know where the contacts are...😟 Can't see them....not sure I will be able to remove it....,.,
Ventura

Post by Ventura »

Silly 😜 me....I just remember that there is On Board battery charge connector...  👍
freyguy17

Post by freyguy17 »